Have you been charged with Menacing?
Call Now 419-242-8214
Do you need an attorney?
A charge of Menacing in the State of Ohio is usually a misdemeanor charge which can carry a maximum penalty of a 30 days in jail and a maximum $250 fine. If you are charged or accused of Menacing, you will need an attorney who has experience in criminal defense. Get in touch right away to find what you can do to put yourself in a better position to defend against this charge. The consultation is free.
What is Menacing?
The Ohio Revised Code defines Menacing in R.C. 2903.22:
“No person shall knowingly cause another to believe that the offender will cause physical harm to the person or property of the other person, the other person's unborn, or a member of the other person's immediate family. In addition to any other basis for the other person's belief that the offender will cause physical harm to the person or property of the other person, the other person's unborn, or a member of the other person's immediate family, the other person's belief may be based on words or conduct of the offender that are directed at or identify a corporation, association, or other organization that employs the other person or to which the other person belongs.”
In order to convict a person of Menacing, the State must be able to prove that an offender knowingly caused another to believe that physical harm was going to occur. This can be done through words or actions, and there is no requirement of imminent physical harm as there is with other charges.
What can you do?
Call now at 419-242-8214 for a free consultation. If you, or someone you care about, have been charged with an offense of Menacing in Toledo or the surrounding areas, a prompt and confidential consultation with a qualified attorney will help. Steps should be taken at once to address these charges. Contact Brian C. Morrissey, Attorney at Law, right away at 419-242-8214 to set up a free consultation.